Skip to content

Computer Systems & Networks – Level 3

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Computer Systems and Data Analysis (Business Information Systems)

2 Years
Theory & Practical

Entry Requirements: 5 GCSEs at grade A*-C/grade 9 - 4 including Maths & English

Course Info

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Computer Systems and Data Analysis is equivalent in size to 3 A Level qualifications and is aimed at learners who are looking to progress into employment in this sector, either directly or following further training through an Apprenticeship or Higher Education.

It is intended as a Tech Level, and as such is designed to meet the Tech Bacc measure when studied alongside Level 3 Mathematics and the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).

Modules that learners study include:

  • Principles of Computer Science
  • Planning and Management of Computing Projects
  • Building Computer Systems
  • IT Systems Security
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Relational Database Development
  • Systems Analysis and Design
  • Systems Methodology
  • Large Scale Data Systems
  • Business Process Modelling Tools


The content of this qualification has been developed in consultation with employers and professional bodies to ensure relevance to current industry practice in computing occupational disciplines.

In addition, academics have been consulted on the content development to ensure the qualification supports progression to Higher Education.

All learners taking this qualification will be required to engage with sector employers as part of their course. This could be, for example, through work experience or through being assessed by industry practitioners for relevant units.

Entry Requirements & Interview Process

An advanced course suitable for those with at least 5 GCSEs at grade A*-C or grade 9 – 4 including Maths & English.

Additionally, learners who have completed the Level 2 Digital Skills IT and Creative Technology will be eligible to apply.