Software & Systems Development (Computer Science) – Level 3

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Computer Science, Software and Systems Development is equivalent in size to 2 A Level qualifications

2 Years
Theory & Practical

Entry Requirements: 5 GCSEs at grade A*-C/grade 9 -4 including Maths & English

Course Info

This course is aimed at learners who are looking to progress to employment in the sector, either directly or following further training including an Apprenticeship or Higher Education.

It is intended as a Tech Level, and as such is designed to meet the Tech Bacc measure when studied alongside Level 3 mathematics and the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).

This qualification is designed to support learners who want a strong core study of computer science to enable progression to roles in the computing industry or higher education with a focus on the computing sector.

Modules of study include:

  • Principles of Computer Science
  • Planning and Management of Computing Projects
  • Building Computer Systems
  • IT Systems Security
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Website Development
  • Object Orientated Programming
  • Mobile Apps Development
  • Relational Database Development
  • Systems Analysis and Design
  • Software Development
  • Web Application Development
  • Programmable Devices and Controllers
  • Computer Forensics


The content of this qualification has been developed in consultation with employers and professional bodies to ensure relevance to current industry practice in computing occupational disciplines.

In addition, academics have been consulted on the content development to ensure the qualification supports progression to higher education.

All learners taking this qualification will be required to engage with sector employers as part of their course. This could be, for example, through work experience or through being assessed by industry practitioners for relevant units.

Entry Requirements & Interview Process

An advanced course suitable for those with at least 5 GCSEs at grade A*-C or grade 9 -4 including Maths & English.