Skip to content

Lockdown Time Capsule Competition

This is a period of time that we hope will never be repeated, but it is also something totally unique and it is important to capture what we have all experienced.

Once we return to campus, we would like to bury a time capsule, filled with items to represent this time period. Whether that’s the rainbow from your window, some toilet roll, or a picture of Captain Tom.

However, we don’t want it to be all our ideas, we’d like some input from YOU, and to help us with that we’ve pulled together a competition.

Tell us what you think should be included in the time capsule for your chance to win a £50 Amazon voucher, and for your item to be buried in the capsule.

You’ll also be invited along to the burial ceremony to watch your submission be buried for future generations to find!

To enter, please tag us on social media and use the hashtag #CalderdaleTimeCapsule. You may enter up to 5 times, and entries will be judged on:

  • Creativity
  • Originality
  • Relevance to this period of time

Entries close on Friday 26th June, so you have almost three weeks to think of your best submissions!

Don’t forget to tag us using one of the following social media accounts along with the hashtag #CalderdaleTimeCapsule:

Twitter: @CalderdaleCol

Facebook: Calderdale College

Instagram: @calderdalecollege

We can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Edit: And the winner is... *drumroll please* Jo Dye! For her imaginative family newspaper. Well done Jo, you have won a £50 Amazon voucher and your newspaper will be buried in the capsule! 

Within college we also held a competition for the best completed booklet, and the winners have been chosen from the 100s of entries that were returned. The competition was fierce with many impressive and imaginative entries. The winners of the booklet competition are…

3rd prize-£50 voucher- Ioana Patru

2nd prize-£75 voucher-Rebecca Bayley

1st Prize-£150 voucher- Stevie Wainhouse Sanderson

The top 25 entries will all be buried and writers will be invited to the ceremony. These additional names will follow shortly.